Announcing the 2022 Governance Committee Election Results

The OpenTelemetry project is proud to announce the winners of the 2022 OpenTelemetry Governance Committee (GC) election! Before we get into the results, I’d like to share some statistics about the election!

This year, 513 project members were eligible to vote. Of those, 219 cast ballots, for a participation rate of nearly 43%! For comparison, the 2021 election saw 169 ballots cast with 386 eligible voters. Participation was roughly flat year-over-year, and we’re thrilled that we’ve welcomed so many new project members and maintained a high participation rate.

With that out of the way, please join me in congratulating Alolita Sharma, Daniel Dyla, and Morgan McLean on their re-election! They will be joined by long-time contributor and maintainer of OpenTelemetry Java Instrumentation Trask Stalnaker! All will serve a two-year term.

We’d like to thank everyone who participated – candidates, voters, and the election organizers – for their efforts. You can find the full results of the election here.